To put it simply, no. Driving over the speed limit is an offense, putting you at risk for a citation.
Police officers are free to use their discretion though, often giving drivers some leeway when it comes to sticking to the speed limit.
Here at the Mike Hostilo Law Firm, we put safety first. Our car accident lawyers have handled countless cases caused by speeding, and we have seen the disastrous consequences of exceeding the speed limit. Read on to learn more.
Super Speeders are drivers who receive a ticket for going 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or 85 mph or more on other roads or highways. Any Georgia residents or out-of-state drivers who are caught will receive a notification in the mail.
How much will I be fined?
The Super Speeder fine is an additional $200 on top of other speeding tickets.
Can I go to jail for being a Super Speeder in GA?
To avoid further consequences, follow the instructions in your notice for paying the fine. If you fail to pay the Super Speeder fee within 120 days, your driver’s license will be suspended. Drivers convicted of speeding, or those who miss their court date, may potentially go to jail.
In addition to fines, speeding citations may result in points added to your driving record. This could eventually lead to a license suspension as well as increased insurance costs.
What are the Traffic Fines for a First-Time Speeder?
The fine is based on several factors, such as where the violation occurred, the driver’s previous record, and the posted speed limit. Here are the maximum fines for a first-time speeding violation in the Peach State:
Georgia traffic law also states that drivers must pay an additional $200 penalty on top of the fine if they are deemed a “Super Speeder.” Remember, the Georgia Super Speeder penalty must be paid before the deadline stated in the statute to prevent a driver’s license suspension.
What is Georgia’s Driving License Point System for Speeding?
Under Georgia traffic law, points are added to a driver’s record upon conviction. The Georgia Point System ranges from two to six points per offense. If a driver accrues 15 points in a 24-month period, their license will be suspended. Here is how the point system works:
Injured in an accident caused by someone speeding? Attorney Mike Hostilo and his experienced team of car accident lawyers can help. We will fight to recover the compensation you deserve – and to hold the at-fault driver accountable for their recklessness. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation!
GEORGIA PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS
SOUTH CAROLINA PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS
ALABAMA PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS
More Helpful Car Accident Blogs: